Blog Check In #1

“A poet is someone
Who can pour light into a cup,
Then raise it to nourish
Your beautiful parched, holy mouth.”
~Hafiz

Creative Writing begins. The first part of our class is devoted to writing poetry. I received the quote above in an email, and thought it was perfect for this portion of class. Hafiz and Rumi, two Sufi Poets that I quote often in my artwork, inspire me. There is passion in their ancient words. Their work is timeless.
During this class, I challenge myself to write 30 minutes a day, following a schedule that carves out specific writing time, helping form a habit. Also, I want to find a way to incorporate my artistic style/calligraphy into my assignments wherever possible. Creating frees me from structure and invites a sense of play. For instance, my completed villanelle is a coy love letter to coffee. So, I added light brush strokes of coffee to stain my printed paper as a touch of creative embellishment. Every assignement transforms into art. Additionally, this blog space itself is a goal. I would like to develop this forum to feature my art and creative writings to share outward. My journals are filled with thoughts that guide my artistic inspiration. I want to go back through my journals and find words to post in this space. At least two per week, and post pictures of art as it is created. This blog will become a place to feature my paintings, calligraphy and writing. When people inquire about my work I can guide them here.

Published by

hefoundjoy

I am an Artist, Writer and Wayshower. You can see more of my work on Facebook. Please visit my pages. Gordon Hays Artwork: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gordon-Hays-Artwork/380616048717195 The Good Life with Gordon Radio Show: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Good-Life-with-Gordon/1463801707210100

2 thoughts on “Blog Check In #1”

  1. This is such a great way to feature your art! Great idea. I didn’t know you were taking a creative writing class, that sounds really fun. I can’t wait to read all your future posts!

Leave a Reply

