Blog Check In #3

“Wisdom tells me I am nothing. Love tells me I am everything. Between these two my life flows.”

~Nisargadatta Maharaj

Last week was a difficult week, but also a great one. First half of the week I really struggled. Things were not flowing and I struggled to write my sonnet. I’ve noticed that creativity cannot be forced, you must surrender to it. This is true if I’m having writer’s block or stuck within a painting. The more effort I put into forcing it, the less I achieve. So, I stop and feel. Just feel and allow my emotions to shape into words…and everything flows. I was disappointed that I didn’t add an artistic embellishment to my assignment, but there is time to do that when I turn in a final version. There is a process to creating, and I do consider writing a form of creation, that is both difficult but ultimately satisfying. An inspired work can nourish me for days. 

Watching a movie yesterday, there was one scene showing a well traveled bridge, empty, the morning sun shining  down on it. Disaster loomed, and yet still the sun rises. And the thought came to me…it is somewhere between grit and serenity. That’s where I reside.

Published by

hefoundjoy

I am an Artist, Writer and Wayshower. You can see more of my work on Facebook. Please visit my pages. Gordon Hays Artwork: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gordon-Hays-Artwork/380616048717195 The Good Life with Gordon Radio Show: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Good-Life-with-Gordon/1463801707210100

2 thoughts on “Blog Check In #3”

  1. That’s a wonderful image of the bridge, and I wonder if it will find its way into a poem or some other creation? I think you’ve captured one truth about writing really well (or, at least, it’s a truth in my opinion) — that there are highs and lows. If it were easy, everyone would do it and be published, but you keep going and keep trying and that’s what’s important.

Leave a Reply

