Blog Check In #4

“If I were to wish for anything, I should not wish for wealth and power, but for the passionate sense of the potential, for the eye which, ever young and ardent, sees the possible. Pleasure disappoints, possibility never.”

~Soren Kiekegaard, Danish philosopher (1813-55)

When I write, or create in general, I am often engaging my child self. We are a team of delight and inspiration. That’s why I had so much fun with this week’s writing tasks. As part of our writing challenge for a blank verse poem, we were instructed to choose something from our five senses as the subject. I sat quietly in class, taking a moment to ponder…hmm, what to write about? I was thinking about sight, and the many colors I could choose, but as an artist I have a difficult time choosing one. So, perhaps a rainbow? No, no, that’s an easy stereotype to slip into. Scent, that’s intriguing…color, scent…aha! mr.sketch scented markers. (imagine a thought bubble brightly illuminated by a lightbulb) I hadn’t thought about my favorite childhood markers in years. I decided this would also be a great subject since I would be able to incorporate an artistic embellishment into the assignment as well.

It became a kind of scavenger hunt to track down a pack of markers. They are not found easily. But, I thought it was important to buy a pack to have in hand as I wrote my verse. It became a fun challenge, to seek out my source of inspiration and figure out how to describe these markers without naming them directly.

Another item on the scavenger hunt: find a postcard for Thursdays class. Octopus Garden in Uptown Richland was the spot to find it. I recalled a few racks of unique postcard images from previous trips to the store. So, I took a trip to the little gift shop and had fun seeking out a good one.

When homework piles up, infusing my projects with a sense of play definitely lightens the load, and allows me to enjoy the process of learning.

Published by

hefoundjoy

I am an Artist, Writer and Wayshower. You can see more of my work on Facebook. Please visit my pages. Gordon Hays Artwork: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gordon-Hays-Artwork/380616048717195 The Good Life with Gordon Radio Show: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Good-Life-with-Gordon/1463801707210100

One thought on “Blog Check In #4”

Leave a Reply

