Blog Check In #7

“Ask yourself: Is there joy, ease, and lightness in what I am doing? If there isn’t, then time is covering up the present moment, and life is perceived as a burden or a struggle.”

~The Power of Now, pg56

This week was a bit disheartening for me. What I expected out of my poems wasn’t taking shape. So, I had to let it be for the moment and produce what I could. I turned in an ego-tripping poem that fit the requirements, but it wasn’t what I intended for the assignment. For my revised poem, I actually went back to my original ego trip poem, and worked through my issues with it. I have a piece that I actually enjoy now. The song lyrics poem was not what I expected either. I felt a bit foolish having been so giddy earlier about my song choices. But, after having zero inspiration on Thursday, and feeling a wave of self doubt, breakthrough arrived on Friday.

Part of my struggle in this class is feeling like what I do isn’t on the level with other students. That isn’t typed out of false modesty or a search for complimets. That really is something that I’m working through within myself. It’s just part of my artistic journey. Getting back into school hasn’t been easy, I but I will continue pushing myself to focus on doing what Gordon does best.

Short story section is coming up, and I must admit it’s a bit daunting (4,000 to 7,000 words!). Other people have started their stories already?? I’ve never approached a project like this before, so starting at a point of unknown. Sometimes, the best ideas take shape in the space of the unknown, so we will see. I’m reminded by the quote about above not to attempt anything that is not me. My best work always comes from the heart. I commit to enjoying the creative process.

Published by

hefoundjoy

I am an Artist, Writer and Wayshower. You can see more of my work on Facebook. Please visit my pages. Gordon Hays Artwork: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gordon-Hays-Artwork/380616048717195 The Good Life with Gordon Radio Show: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Good-Life-with-Gordon/1463801707210100

Leave a Reply

