The Eyes Have It…

Do you ever have one of those moments when in the midst of daily routine you pause, wondering-what’s it all for? I have about a hundred of those a day. The tiny glimpses of sunshine seem few and far between, wishing for something but not knowing what. Tiny islands of escape can be found in my deep well of red wine after a long day. My professor brought up the poem below by Naomi Nye during class discussion. I think its remarkable. As an avid observer of subtlety, I live for the smallest moments, glances, when the world opens up…and the rest of the day is steeped in intrigue. I would live to serve in naomi’s empire.

Eye-to Eye
Please forgive this interruption.
I am forging a career,
A delicate enterprise
of eyes. Your included.
We will meet at the corner,
You with your sack lunch,
me with my guitar.
We will be wearing our famous street faces,
anonymous as trees.
Suddenly you will see me,
you will blink, hesitant,
then realize I have not looked away.
For one brave second
we will stare
openly
from borderless skins.
This is my salary.
There are no days off.
~ Naomi Nye

Published by

hefoundjoy

I am an Artist, Writer and Wayshower. You can see more of my work on Facebook. Please visit my pages. Gordon Hays Artwork: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gordon-Hays-Artwork/380616048717195 The Good Life with Gordon Radio Show: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Good-Life-with-Gordon/1463801707210100

Leave a Reply

