Soaring Eagle

“And if every way is closed before you,
the secret one will show a secret path no other eyes have seen.”
—Rumi

A few nights ago, I lay in bed with a restless mind. So many worries, so many details, not enough time…until I had to silence it. Stop. Liberate yourself. I’ve been meditating lately on my spirit animal. This animal changes, transforms for me. As new needs arise, new shapes emerge. A few years ago it was the horse: Freedom and Strength. Now, a new shape: the Eagle. Walking my puppy on the first day of the new year a bald eagle flew overhead, so close I felt I could reach up and touch its wings. Quiet and powerful it drifted over us and I stood in awe. A week or so ago, I was walking along the river, and I saw a bird in the distance…I was so drawn to it I began to walk faster, and then I slowed, watching. I knew not to hurry it would come to me. Graceful and beautiful it took its wide circle in the air, meeting me on the path again, flying directly over my head. I imagined this bird again as I lay in the dark, my content companion nuzzled against me under the blankets. Stopping the flood of worries, I forced an image in my mind. A warm bright sky, golden light, and my spirit eagle flying high, ever closer to the warm light. Higher in wide circles spiralling up and up. I prayed inwardly…Soaring eagle, let me see with your eyes, show me the secret path that no other eyes have seen.

 

Published by

hefoundjoy

I am an Artist, Writer and Wayshower. You can see more of my work on Facebook. Please visit my pages. Gordon Hays Artwork: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gordon-Hays-Artwork/380616048717195 The Good Life with Gordon Radio Show: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Good-Life-with-Gordon/1463801707210100

One thought on “Soaring Eagle”

Leave a Reply

