The Trip

RockFeatherThe week before Spring Break was a difficult one for me. But, I am reminded of a sermon by T.D. Jakes in which he says, the blessing is in the breaking…It is hard to remember to be grateful when life is presenting us with so many hurdles. But, truly the toughest times end up being the ones that teach us the most. Sometimes, I do wonder-what is it all for? Why am I fighting for good grades, struggling for assignments, etc. There must be some purpose out there for me that I am being prepared for, but truly it isn’t clear to me now. So, I must trust. After struggling to maintain my mental strength all week, studying, memorizing and writing…I let the tears drip, driving home from class one night. The relief of doing well on a test combined with my professors encouraging words brought on alot of emotion. Suddenly, I was writing in my mind an idea of meeting God. Where it sprang from I don’t define, when the Muse is upon me I let it flow. This is what I wrote:

When I return home, God will be waiting for me in His study. I walk in the door to find God in His chair, reading the paper. His smile washes away the exhaustion of my long trip, and so very happy to see Him I cross the room as he moves to greet me. We embrace and he welcomes me to sit with Him awhile. I remove my coat and ease into the most comfortable chair that ever existed. God graciously offers me a cup of steaming hot tea, which I eagerly accept, savoring a flavor I’ve never tasted before but somehow it’s exactly what I need.

After a moment of perfect silence, God leans back looking me over, and with sincerity asks, “Well, how was it?”

Although, He already knows the answer.

With moist eyes, but smiling, I reply, “Better than expected.”

God just smiles and nods.

~ Gordon Hays, 2014

Published by

hefoundjoy

I am an Artist, Writer and Wayshower. You can see more of my work on Facebook. Please visit my pages. Gordon Hays Artwork: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gordon-Hays-Artwork/380616048717195 The Good Life with Gordon Radio Show: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Good-Life-with-Gordon/1463801707210100

Leave a Reply

